LETTER: Voters should never forget the five who killed preserve grant

To Ozaukee Press:

  Amazing information in the Aug. 25 issue of Ozaukee Press. Buried in a Cedar Gorge news story on page two are two paragraphs voters should never forget, especially at election time. I hope the editors will allow printing of these paragraphs here again:

“The Land Trust began a campaign to raise the remaining funds it needed, and in April the Ozaukee County Board was asked to contribute $1 million in ARPA funds for the acquisition. Port Mayor Ted Neitzke asked the county to use the money for infrastructure instead, and all four Port Washington representatives on the board voted against the funding, and the matter failed by a 14-10 vote—three votes short of the two-thirds needed.”

“The anonymous buyer then met with Neitzke and Port City Administrator Tony Brown, who agreed to keep his name private, before sending his representative to pitch his proposal to the Common Council.”   

The shenanigans surrounding this project appear to be taken from a Chicago political playbook.

God bless Gov. Tony Evers.

There are five people who should never be invited to any of the upcoming public celebrations regarding Cedar Gorge: Mayor Ted and the four Port Washington representatives on the County Board—Dave Larson, Rick Nelson, Dan Becker and Lee Schlenvogt. Nor should any be re-elected.

Rob Burns

Roselle, Ill.


Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login