Incumbents will face challengers in Village Board race

Ozaukee Press Staff

The Village of Grafton will have a contested election on April’s ballot while candidates in the Town of Grafton and on the Grafton School Board are running unopposed.

Three seats are open on the Grafton Village Board. Newcomers AnneMarie Wenten and John Meinecke will join incumbent trustees John Gassert, David Antoine and Tom Krueger in a five-candidate field.

Village President Jim Brunnquell is unopposed in his bid for re-election.

Gassert joined the Village Board in October to fill a vacancy when Trustee Dean Proefrock moved to the Town of Grafton.         

In a bid for a Village Board seat in spring 2018, Gassert lost by 22 votes.

Village Board members serve two-year terms.

In the Town of Grafton, Town Chairman Lester Bartel and supervisors Paul Melotik and Karron Stockwell will not be challenged in their bids for re-election.

Town Board members hold two-year seats.

In the Grafton School District, no one is running against incumbent board members Mark Koehler and Jo Maehl. Board members serve three-year terms. 

The deadline for submitting nomination papers was Jan. 2.    

The spring election is Tuesday, April 2. 



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login