Hard-fought races fuel 81% turnout in county

Ozaukee voters remain loyal to Republicans but margins continue to shrink
Ozaukee Press staff

Ozaukee County voters, like those throughout the country, came out in droves Tuesday.

A striking 81.07% of voters — 52,583 of the county’s 64,865 registered voters — cast ballots in Tuesday’s election, propelled by highly charged state and national races.

That doesn’t exceed the last presidential election, when turnout was 92.5%, but it was striking.

Although the state and national races propelled voters to the polls, there were three local elections of note.

Christy Knowles will become the county’s first female sheriff. She ran unopposed and received 38,410 votes.

Connie Mueller was elected clerk of circuit court in another unopposed election, collecting 37,535 votes.

And incumbent State Rep. Rob Brooks, R-Saukville, won 60.4% of the county vote to top Democratic challenger Dan Larsen, who garnered 39.6% of the vote.

Brooks won re-election with 65% of the votes in the 60th Assembly District, which spans much of Ozaukee and Washington counties, while Larsen receiving 35%.

Throughout the day, the polls were busy, election workers reported.

The highest turnout in the county was in the Town of Grafton, where 88.6% of voters cast ballots at one of its polling places. Turnout in the other was 87.6%.

Despite the partisan nature of the election and the bitter rhetoric that filled the airways, election day seemed to run smoothly locally.

“The voters were respectful and our dedicated election workers did an excellent job providing a well-run election for our residents,” Port Washington City Clerk Susan Westerbeke said.

In the city, turnout averaged 78%, while in the seven wards it ranged from 73% in the 6th District to 80% in the 3rd District.   

Of the city’s 6,376 voters, 1,259 people voted early and 2,324 cast absentee ballots, Westerbeke reported.

On Tuesday, 406 people registered at the polls.

In the Town of Port, Clerk Heather Krueger reported 85.5% turnout with 947 of the 1,108 registered voters casting ballots. Twenty percent cast absentee or early ballots, she said.

County voters continued to support Republican candidates, although the margins continue to creep closer, particularly in the most noteworthy races.

For governor, the county voted for Republican Tim Michels over incumbent Tony Evers, 55% to 44%, although Evers won the state 51% to 48%.

In the race for U.S. Senator, county voters cast 57.9% of their ballots for incumbent Ron Johnson and 42% for Democrat Mandela Barnes. Statewide, Johnson won 50.6% to Barnes’ 49.4%.

For attorney general, the county favored Republican Eric Toney 57.2% to incumbent Josh Kaul’s 42.8%. Kaul won re-election, 51% to Toney’s 49%.





Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login