Share this page on facebook
Changes are afoot on spring ballot PDF Print E-mail
Written by Kristyn Halbig Ziehm   
Wednesday, 04 January 2017 19:33

Vacant positions will bring new faces to office in town, school district

There will be a new look to the Grafton Town Board and the Grafton School Board this spring, but there won’t be any changes  to the Village Board.

Six candidates are seeking three School Board positions, and four people are seeking two town supervisory seats in the April 4 election.

In the village, the incumbents — President James Brunnquell and trustees David Antoine, Dean Proefrock and Thomas Krueger — are unopposed in their quests for another term on the board. 

Vying for the School Board seats are incumbent Paul Lorge, who has served since 2002, and challengers John Meinecke, Steve Nauta, Jerry Rossi, Shawn Viesselmann and Carrie Walls.

Incumbents Dan McKelvey and Clayton Riddle filed noncandidacy papers and are not seeking re-election.

School Board members serve three-year terms.

Virtually all of the candidates seeking town supervisory seats have some political experience. 

Incumbent Karron Stockwell, 717 Heather Ct., is facing challengers Patrick Stemper, Collin Schaefer and Paul Melotik.

Stockwell has been on the board since 2011.

Stemper, 957 Lakeland Rd., is chairman of the town’s Open Space Commission and is an alternate on the Plan Commission.

Melotik, 1408 Pioneer Rd., is an Ozaukee County supervisor.

Schaefer, 1542 Lakeshore Rd., is the son of current board member Steve Schaefer, who has filed noncandidacy papers and is not seeking re-election.

Town supervisors serve two-year seats.

Town Chairman Lester Bartel Jr. is also seeking re-election, but he will run unopposed.

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.