Longtime county supervisor faces challenge

Incumbent Dohrwardt will be opposed by fellow village trustee in Ozaukee spring race
Ozaukee Press Staff

Fredonia Village Trustee Joshua Haas has thrown his hat into the ring to run against longtime county Supr. Don Dohrwardt in the April 2020 election.

It’s only the third time Dohrwardt has been opposed as a county supervisor, a seat he has held since 2000.

Candidates could begin circulating petitions this week to be placed on the spring ballot.

Dohrwardt represents the village and parts of the Town of Fredonia. 

Haas also is up for re-election to the Village Board, of which Dohrwardt is president. Dohrwardt’s seat as president is not on the April ballot.

“I just feel we need some new blood and fresh ideas,” Haas said. “I think there’s more that can be done at the county level.”

Haas is chairman of the village’s Economic Development Committee and said he would do more to work at the county level in that regard.

“One of the big things is trying to develop more of a relationship with Ozaukee Economic Development and informing the village and town boards about what’s going on,” he said. “It feels right now that we’re not getting enough communication.”

Along with Rick Nelson of Port Washington and Tom Richart of Grafton, Dohrwardt is the longest continuously serving supervisor on the Ozaukee County Board. Gus Wirth of  Cedarburg served on the board from 1988 to 2004 and then from 2006 to the present.

Dohrwardt has also been a fixture on the Village Board, as well, serving from 1996 to 2001 when he was voted out and then voted back in as a write-in candidate in 2004.

Dohrwardt was opposed as county supervisor in the 2010 and 2012 elections.

Haas was elected to the Village Board in 2018.

Dohrwardt did not return a phone call seeking comment.

Also on the ballot for the Village Board are incumbents Richard Abegglen and Jill Bertram. Abegglen was elected to the board in 2018. Bertram has served as a trustee since 2008.

Among other local races, three incumbents are up for re-election in the Northern Ozaukee School District. They are School Board Treasurer Jennifer Clark, who represents the Village of Fredonia; Kevin Klas, representing the Town of Fredonia; and School Board President Brent Neis, who represents the Town of Saukville.

Clark, Klas and Neis were elected to the School Board in 2017.

In the Town of Fredonia,  supervisor seats held by Rich Mueller and Jim Stemper will be on the April ballot.

Mueller, however, said he has taken out papers declaring he will not be running for re-election.

Mueller served 20 years as chairman until last April when he did not run for re-election. He was back on the board a couple weeks later when he was appointed by new Chairman Lance Leider. In all, Mueller has served 37 years on the Town Board.

Stemper has been a Town Board member since 2012.

Other county supervisors who represent parts of the Town of Fredonia and are up for re-election include District 1 Supr. Tom Winker and District 3 Supr. Barb Jobs.

No other challengers have filed paperwork to oppose any of the incumbents, according to local clerks.

Candidates must file nomination papers by 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 7, to be listed on the April ballot.

The deadline for incumbents to file declarations of noncandidacy is 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 27. If the deadline for declaring noncandidacy is missed, 72 hours are added to the campaign filing deadline.

A primary, if necessary, will be held Tuesday, Feb. 18.



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login