About Us

Ozaukee Press, Wisconsin’s largest paid-circulation community weekly newspaper, covers the communities of Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia and Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. It is the mission of the Press, a seven-time winner of the Wisconsin Newspaper of the Year award, to deliver hard-hitting news, in-depth reporting, entertaining features and beautifully reproduced photographs, as well as insightful editorials and letters to the editor.

Ozaukee Press is published 52 times a year from its headquarters in downtown Port Washington. It is available on newsstands on Wednesday afternoons and delivered to subscribers by mail on Thursdays.

Ozaukee Press was founded by William F. Schanen Jr. and his wife Marie Jacque Schanen in 1940. Inspired by Life Magazine, Mr. Schanen’s newspaper would look much like Life, a tabloid with bold headlines, news stories written in a lively style and photos reproduced larger than readers had seen in a community newspaper. To do this, he needed the right equipment, so when the inaugural issue of his paper was published on Aug. 14, 1940, it was believed to be the first photo offset newspaper in the United States. The Press led a technological revolution in the newspaper industry — within 25 years nearly every newspaper in the country except the largest metropolitan dailies would be printed by the method pioneered in Port Washington. Ozaukee Press has evolved since then, employing the latest publishing technology and adding full color to its pages, but some things haven’t changed. The Press is still owned and published by the Schanen family from its offces, newsroom and printing plant in downtown Port Washington — with the same commitment to journalistic excellence and quality.

Ozaukee Press is part of the Port Publications Inc. family of businesses. Our commercial printing division specializes coldset offset printing as well as short-run digital printing. In addition to printing Ozaukee Press and its companion publications — Advertiser, Messenger and Lakeshore Life — Port Publications Inc. prints newspapers, books and other material for customers around the county. SAILING Magazine, a national publication also published in Port Washington, is another member of the Port Publications family.

Ozaukee Press
125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
Phone: (262) 284-3494
Fax: (262) 284-0067
Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays. 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Fridays


Publisher: William F. Schanen III
Editor: Bill Schanen IV editor@ozaukeepress.com
(262) 284-3494 ext. 1110


Port Washington Reporter: Kris Halbig-Ziehm kziehm@ozaukeepress.com
Sports/Belgium Reporter: Mitch Maersch mmaersch@ozaukeepress.com
Community Reporter: Joe Poirier jpoirier@ozaukeepress.com
Photographer: Sam Arendt
General Manager: Bill Schanen IV
Advertising Director: Holly Ostermann holly@ozaukeepress.com

Account Executives: Patty Harris pharris@ozaukeepress.com
and Denise Foerster dfoerster@ozaukeepress.com

Business Manager: Margaret Uselding

General News: news@ozaukeepress.com
News Tips: news@ozaukeepress.com
Letters to the Editor • editor@ozaukeepress.com


Commercial Printing
Greta Schanen greta@portpublications.com
(262) 284-7767



Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login